Saturday, 18 May, 2024
HomeNews ReleaseNominations open for 2019 SA Health Excellence Awards

Nominations open for 2019 SA Health Excellence Awards

Following the success of the inaugural South African Health Excellence Awards in 2018, Clinix Health Group in partnership with the South African Clinician Scientists Society will host the second South African Health Excellence Awards in recognition of the country’s leading researchers, scientists, doctors and other medical professionals. The awards will take place on the 23 November 2019 at the Emperors Palace in Johannesburg.

CEO of Clinix Health Group, Dr Khamane ‘Kop’ Matseke says that the awards will celebrate excellence in healthcare by identifying leaders in a range of categories who have contributed to research, teaching and advancement of medicine in South Africa. “South Africa has always inspired the world with its medical advances, the most famous of which is the world’s first heart transplant in December 1967. In another world first, a medical team from the Wits Donald Gordon Medical Centre announced early in October 2018 that it had, successfully transplanted a liver from an HIV positive mother to an HIV negative baby. A year later the baby remains HIV negative,” says Matseke.

To this end, the Awards celebrate excellence in various categories including: scientific excellence; research excellence; clinical excellence; leadership excellence; emerging leader; rising star; and emerging physician award.

President of the South African Clinicians’ Society, Professor Salome Maswime says: “We launched the South African Health Excellence Awards in 2018 because we felt that there is a need to acknowledge the talent and accomplishments of doctors and other clinicians in South Africa. We find that so many people are doing such amazing work in improving healthcare and also doing ground-breaking research. However, there aren’t enough platforms to celebrate the excellence that we see. This is one platform that will unite healthcare practitioners and bring them to one place where we can celebrate all the great things that have been done in the South African healthcare landscape.”

The team of adjudicators will include: Professor Jimmy Volmink, professor of clinical epidemiology and dean of the faculty of edicine and health sciences at Stellenbosch University; Professor Bruce Biccard, president of South African Society of Anaesthesiologists (SASA), second professor and second chair in anaesthesia deputy head of department at the University of Cape Town; Professor Ncoza Dlova, associate professor, chief specialist and head of department of dermatology at the Nelson R Mandela School of Medicine (NRMSM) at the University of Kwa-Zulu Natal; Dr Judy Dlamini, chancellor of Wits University and chair of the Mbekani Group; Professor Modise Zacharia Koto, head of general surgery at Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University; Dr Rolene Wagner, CEO of Frere Hospital; and Dr Ernest Kenoshi, former CEO of the Steve Biko Academic Hospital and acting head of department at the Gauteng Health Department.

Nominations from the medical fraternity, business and the public at large are open until Monday, 21 October 2019, following which the adjudication process will commence.

How to submit a nomination: Visiting, completing and submitting the e-nomination form; visiting or , clicking on the banner, completing and submitting the e-nomination form.

MedicalBrief — our free weekly e-newsletter

We'd appreciate as much information as possible, however only an email address is required.